350!

November 12, 2008 at 5:51 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 3 Comments

Here I am at another milestone: 350 books so far this year.  (Well, 351).  My original goal was 366, one per day, and I’ve bumped it up to 400.  It looks like this is well within reach.  (It looks like I’ll also reach 100,000 pages later today – how about that?).

Ordinarily, my TBR stack consists of somewhat random selections.  For the remainder of the year, I’m going to focus more on reading fun stuff, specifically to get further into (or finish) a few series.  For instance, I read the first ten volumes of A Series of Unfortunate Events, and it will be pretty straightforward to finish the last three.  I also read The Golden Compass earlier this year, and I’ve wanted to finish the trilogy.  I’ll probably also try to read some more of Louise Rennison’s contagiously fun books.  I’m just throwing this out there, because these are all books aimed at younger people, and I don’t want to look as though I’m cherry-picking.

I love children’s books.  I think children’s books are the reason most people continue to read for pleasure.  I’ll be darned if I’m going to miss out on things like Fancy Nancy just because I’m in my thirties and don’t have kids.  So ha!  Even more so, I read young adult books because there are a lot of teenagers in my life, and I like to know what they’re reading.  As luck would have it, I happened to read Twilight about six weeks before Sweetie Junior discovered it – and thank goodness, because she’s not yet 14.  Rocket Scientist and I were able to discuss it with her with a certain amount of credibility.  We’ve also done this with Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket and even the superb The Declaration.

There’s another reason I plan to read a stack of books for younger people.  It’s a sort of clearing the decks – a closing of accounts for the year.  Next year I plan to plough my way through a bunch of award winners, including the Pulitzer Prizes, the Bookers, and the National Book Awards.  I’d like to start January with a bang.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats! And to think – I was feeling pretty good about my 50 books read so far this year 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to see your goals for next year. 400 books is impressive as hell.

  3. That’s a freakin’ awesome accomplishment. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

