“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”

November 3, 2008 at 5:40 pm | Posted in Fiction | 5 Comments

If it isn’t on your list already, you want to find a copy of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo right away.  I finished it on Saturday, and said a little prayer of thanks that Stieg Larsson was kind enough to finish and submit all three volumes of this trilogy before he tragically passed away.  (A heart attack at age 50).  I also wondered whether there is an afterlife for unfinished works, and if we get to read them when we die.  Luckily, in this case, we don’t have to wait.  The second book of the series, The Girl Who Played with Fire, will be published this January.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a thriller, but of course it’s far more than your average detective story.  Larsson was a political activist who fought racism and right-wing extremist groups before he turned to writing novels.  His characters thus have all sorts of interesting discussions aside from the mechanics of solving the mystery – which is a really good one!  Larsson’s people are multi-dimensioned, intelligent, and unconventional.  The title character owns the story, though she doesn’t appear until page 30.  The world of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is highly engaging.

I take back what I said about getting this book right away.  You might want to pick it up in January, so you don’t have to wait two months for the sequel like I do.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have this on my TBR shelf to get to in the next few weeks. I have heard such good things about it!

  2. Sounds like a great book. His characters sound amazing. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. Hi There!
    I’m a librarian in AL and read your blog. I liked your review of “Girl With A Dragon …” and linked to it from our blog. If that’s not all right, please let me know and I will remove it.
    Thanks!

  4. Hi Jessica,

    I just read your November 19, 2009 comment on Citizenreader’s blog about Jon Nesbo so I hopped on over to your blog to see what you thought of “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”. Before this book, the only Swedish author I had read was Astrid Lindgrin. I enjoyed “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” a lot. I liked that there was more than one mystery going on…some are solved, some are not. Can you recommend anyone besides Jon Nesbo? I am a big fan of mysteries.

    Ruthiella

    • Oh geez, I don’t know any other Scandinavian mystery writers other than Nesbo and Larsson. I read an article a few months ago talking about the new Nordic trend, and it’s caught my attention enough to seek out more, but honestly I only read a couple mysteries a month.

      I was interested in Bad Things Happen and Fear the Worst, as far as things I’ve read recently. I also really liked Beat the Reaper, though it’s more of a comedy action thriller than a classic mystery. Of course my all time favorites are the Spellman series and the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, both in completely different styles than these brooding, intellectual Viking things we’re talking about. Oh! And I almost forgot, if you haven’t read In the Woods you should rush out and do that immediately.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

