Booking Through Thursday: Coupling

October 23, 2008 at 9:19 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 5 Comments

Here is my response to today’s Booking Through Thursday:

“Name a favorite literary couple and tell me why they are a favorite.  If you cannot choose just one, that is okay too.  Name as many as you like – sometimes narrowing down a list can be extremely difficult and painful.  Or maybe that’s just me.”

It would be a tossup between Jamie Fraser and Claire Beauchamp of Outlander or Henry DeTamble and Clare Abshire of The Time Traveler’s Wife.  (Strangely, both these books involve time travel – not something I read about very often). 

It’s easy to love Jamie and Claire because their adventures splash across thousands of pages, and there are so many details and episodes that they seem almost like real people.  What I like about them is their relationship – Claire speaks her mind and they have an equal say in decisions.  While Jamie is a traditional manly man, Claire is also saving his bacon all the time.  They seem to enjoy and annoy each other in about equal measure, but the best part is reading their random conversations.

Henry and Clare are memorable, partly because their story is so very strange but partly because of the way their characters are drawn.  Henry is a great fantasy date – the cool but bookish rocker who looks like a bad boy but doesn’t act like one – yet I don’t know that I’d be able to put up with his little disorder.  Henry and Clare have probably the most intrinsically romantic relationship in literature.

I’ll tell you who I don’t like.  What is up with Elizabeth Bennett and Fitzwilliam Darcy?  First of all, I could never love a man I had to call Fitzwilliam.  Second, what would you want with some stuffed shirt who is so dry, rude, and condescending?  Would you want to put up with his family?  I also have to say I’d want no part of living that life, stuck out in the country popping out a bunch of kids and trying not to break the porcelain or stain my little lace dresses.  Aiiieee!

Although I love Jane Eyre, I don’t love Edward Rochester.  And neither should she!  My god, could you imagine what Oprah would make of a guy who locked up his crazy wife in the attic?  And that whole scene where he tries to make Jane jealous – what a jerk.  Sure, it’s romantic that she stands by him when he goes blind, but is that really the thanks she gets?  It sounds like Cinderella had it better.

I’m not so sure about Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler, either.  Marry the war profiteer?  Not for me.  Come on, Scarlett, He’s Just Not That Into You!

Worst of all is Jo March and her old dude, what’s his name.  Fritz Bhaer.  OMG I about cried myself to sleep when I first read Little Women and found out she got stuck with him instead of Laurie.  What the hell kind of ending was that?  Ugh.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. lol, so names are important to romance, eh? You know, I think that I agree!

  2. Great answer I agree with you on Mr Rochester and poor Jo not getting Laurie but you don’t like Darcy???

  3. Ha ha, I completely agree with you about Darcy and Mr. Rochester!

    I think my favorite literary couple would have to be Lord Peter Wimsey & Harriet Vane… sigh.

  4. I love Clare and Henry too. Theirs is a strange and romantic relationship. And heartbreaking. You know from the beginning it’s going to end badly, but you can’t help crying your way through it anyway. I couldn’t at least.

    I love Jane and Rochester, though. I realize Rochester has issues, but I choose to see the book through a romantic lens and can’t help being drawn to the story.

  5. I think everyone’s jaw dropped when Laurie ended up with Amy instead of Jo, then Jo got Professor Bhaer.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

