Forgotten Classics: “Momo”

October 13, 2008 at 4:18 pm | Posted in Fiction, Forgotten Classics | 8 Comments

Have you ever fallen in love with a book, and only found out much later that the same author wrote other things?  Your beloved book was such a gem that if it even occurred to you to seek out more, you maybe decided against reading anything else by that author because surely it would lose out in comparison?  Well, I can assure you that if you loved The Neverending Story by Michael Ende, you will also love Momo, published in 1974.  It is an absolute mystery why this book isn’t better known.

I don’t want to spoil the plot, but I will tell you that it’s a fable about time.  This is an absolutely terrific book, one that happens to be appropriate for young people but will certainly be appreciated by adults.  It looks like it’s either out of print or not available in the US, because prices on Amazon are pretty high, but I was able to find it at my library.  Hopefully you can, too.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the Neverending Story. My husband is reading it to my daughter now. I had no idea the author wrote anything else (though I should have guessed). I doubt my library has this one, but I’ll certainly look! Thanks for telling about it.

  2. How old is your daughter? I get REALLY excited about recommending books for kids. Sweetie Junior is reading “The Declaration” right now.

  3. She just turned four. I’d forgotten how sophisticated (for kids) the language is in Neverending Story. He actually had to give it up and now is trying to read her the Narnia books, which is still a struggle. I’ve had better luck reading My Father’s Dragon to her.

  4. Four is pretty little! I took my nephews to see Harry Potter when they were 3 and 5, and was surprised to find that it didn’t hold their attention. The little one yelled out, “This is a long movie, huh?”

    When I was 4 I loved books like “Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel” and “The Little House” and “Blueberries for Sal.” I loved hearing the same book over and over and over. Chapter books are pretty sophisticated stuff!

  5. Oh, yes, those three titles you mentioned are among her favorites! Those “Father’s Dragon” books are really the first chapter books that have held her attention. Honestly I think my husband over-estimates her abilities sometimes, but I don’t mind since he’s trying to encourage reading.

  6. I made my mom read me “The Party That Grew” four times in a row one night when I was that age. When my nephew came along, he always wanted the same books because he had them memorized, and he would recite them along with you. When he turned 8, he decided to read “Moby-Dick”!

  7. Moby Dick at eight? Yikes. I hope it was an abridged and edited version! How far did he get?

  8. No, it was the real unabridged book… I have no idea whether he finished it. I’ll call him and ask. Maybe I can get him to do a guest post when I go up for Thanksgiving.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

