Booking Through Thursday: Book Meme

October 9, 2008 at 5:53 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 3 Comments

Here is my response to this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

What was the last book you bought?

Better Off: Flipping the Switch on Technology by Eric Brende.

Name a book you have read MORE than once

To the Lighthouse and Madame Bovary.  I wouldn’t want to decide which one I liked better.

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life?  If yes, what was it?

Simplify Your Life by Elaine St. James.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

I keep a list of recommendations and award winners.  Then, every time I go to a bookstoe, I wander through all the new releases and write down the titles of everything I find appealing, for instance new books by authors I like.  Cover design is probably the first thing to catch my attention when I’m looking through unknown new books.  Next would be the title and especially subtitle, since I almost never choose fiction titles this way.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

Non-Fiction.  Doesn’t everybody?

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

Beautiful writing.

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

Jane Eyre.

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

Do I have to answer this?  It was The List: 7 Ways to Tell If He’s Going to Marry You – in 30 Days or Less!, by Mary Corbett and Sheila Corbett Kihne, and I read it yesterday.  And he caught me with it.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

The times I’ve put down a book before I finished it, it was because I had to return it to the library and I figured I would get it again and read it later.  Many times I have done this, and I have a list of a few that I still need to round up.  But I did give up on Children of Dune.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good answers! Happy Thursday!

  2. I prefer fiction. Come see my other answers.

  3. Jane Eyre is one of the best ever.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

