300!

October 7, 2008 at 4:59 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 6 Comments

The bad news is, I picked up a nasty virus last week and I’ve been flat on my back since Wednesday night.  The good news is, I was alert enough (at least a few hours a day – I slept until almost 4 PM on Friday) to read a few things (roughly 3000 pages).  Sunday I reached another major milestone.

Yes, it’s true, I’ve read 300 books this year.  Well, okay, 301, but that wasn’t as exciting a header.

Number 300 was the utterly fantastic, couldn’t put it down Lush Life by Richard Price.  I highly recommend reading it right away.  Come to think of it, number 301, Lost on Planet China by J. Maarten Troost, was also completely awesome.  I’ll review it later this week.  Now, number 302, Twilight by Stephenie Meyer?  I’m only halfway through but I know you don’t need me to recommend it.  (Meaning it’s been out since 2005, so you’ve probably heard at least one person rave about it already).

Reviewing my stack from the last week, I want to pause and give thanks for the ready availability of printed matter in our world.  I can’t imagine how dreadful it would be to be sick and alone and have nothing to read.  I was doubly lucky to have some truly terrific material on hand.  I was also a little unlucky, in that I chose to read The Story of Edgar Sawtelle on Saturday, my sickest day in years, so now I’ll never know whether the book truly doesn’t deserve its reputation or whether I was just feeling too crummy to appreciate it.  We’ll skip that review, okay?

Now, let’s see, where does that leave us?  If I want to stay on track, I have to read 99 books in 86 days.  That’s one a day plus an additional 13.  We still have 12 weekends left, including the 24-hour reading marathon on the 18th.  I’d say I’m home free!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW!!!! 301!! AWESOME!

    how on earth do you read so many books!?!?!?! I don’t get it.

  2. I wonder that sometimes myself… The short answer? I don’t really do anything else!

  3. That’s just insane. I was hoping to read 60 this year, but will be lucky to hit 40. Who knew that second kid would eat up SO MUCH of my time??

  4. See, there you go. If I had even one kid, I’m sure I wouldn’t be able to do a thing. I’d be impressed with myself if I could make it all the way through “Goodnight Moon.”

    The good thing about having a parrot instead of a child is that I never have to help her get dressed, tie her shoes, or go to school. 🙂

  5. In Korean, that 300 is “Sahm Beck”
    Congratulations. Wow.

  6. Congrats on reading 300 books…WOW…and I hope you’re feeling better.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

