Booking Through Thursday: Well, That Was Different

September 25, 2008 at 6:43 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 6 Comments

Here is my response to this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

The most unusual book I ever read was probably What to Expect When You’re Expecting.  I was in high school, babysitting, and I’d finished the book I’d brought with me.  The kids were sound asleep and there was nothing else to read.  I mean, nothing!  You may find this hard to believe, but many households are book-free, unless you include phone books.

What was so strange about reading this book?  Most young women probably look forward to having children one day.  Myself, I never really had the desire.  (Then it turned out I can’t have children anyway, so it was a wash).  I didn’t know anyone who was pregnant.  I’m the only girl in my generation in my family, so I didn’t have any cousins or a sister whom I thought might be planning a family soon.  Of course, the strangest thing about reading What to Expect When You’re Expecting as a high schooler would have been having an adult catch me reading it.

I admit that the diagrams in this book gave me pause, especially the one that shows how the growing fetus compresses all the mother’s organs.  Brr!  No thanks.  I would say that after reading it the possibility I might plan to have children one day went from 1% to 0%.

The other effect was that I’ve taken great pains always to have backup reading material since then.  I’m typically reading more than one book at a time, so that if I’m too close to the end of one book I know to bring something that will cover me while I’m away from my stash.  I also have at least a half dozen books downloaded into my PDA in case of natural disaster.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. lol I guess you could say it “gave you the shudders.” I take something along with me to read all the time. Come visit to see my answer. Happy BTT!

  2. It’s hard to believe that some homes are book-free zones, but I know it’s true. At least your experience taught you a good lesson – never leave home without a book. And preferably more than one book!

  3. I’ve gotten into the habit of carrying an extra book when I’m near the end of the one, too. Certainly found some strange books myself, when visiting bookless houses. Unfortunately (or fortunately) I can’t remember most of them!

  4. LOL…about reading what to expect when you’re so not expecting…lol.

    So what are some of the titles you currently have on your PDA?

  5. lol! At least it was educational. WTEWE is a book that will give expecting mothers shudders too. “That’s going to happen to me?!”

  6. Let’s see, what’s on my PDA right now?
    “The Magnificent Ambersons”
    “Ulysses”
    “The Analects of Confucius”
    “Castle Rackrent”
    “Leaves of Grass”
    “The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius”
    “Utopia”
    I’m about halfway through both “Ulysses” and “Ambersons” but the other ones are just backup. I’ve read “Leaves of Grass” before and I like to be able to flip through it sometimes.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

