Something Different: “The Cheese Monkeys”

September 12, 2008 at 3:43 pm | Posted in Fiction, Something Different | 1 Comment

You probably saw this one when it came out in 2002, but I want to talk about it anyway because I thought it was so brilliant.  I had been reading Chip Kidd’s graphic novels, and when I saw he’d done a prose novel I was pretty excited.  The Cheese Monkeys surpassed my expectations.

The basic story, a young man’s experience in college, would not strike you as anything special.  Ah, but reading this book is a little bit of college in itself – not in a pedantic way, but in that fresh way that is the feeling of a spring breeze blowing across your brain.  The subject is graphic design, and it’s presented in such a way that you will look at everything in the world differently.  Unless you are already a graphic designer or serious art student, you will be intrigued.

And that’s just the interstices of the story.  I found it fascinating, unpredictable, and populated by memorable characters, with interpersonal dynamics charged with the intensity of Greek tragedy.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I haven’t heard of this title before. I was an art student for several years, in two different schools. I’d love to read something of a similar experience, so I’m going to look for this one! Thanks for the review.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

