“The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court”

September 10, 2008 at 4:08 pm | Posted in Nonfiction | 3 Comments

Courtroom drama has always been an interest of mine.  That’s part of why I found The Nine such a treat to read.  I thought it would be more of a textbook on the judiciary branch of our government, which is still right up my alley, but it was packed with gossipy anecdotes, suspense, and intrigue.  I should have expected as much from Jeffrey Toobin, who also wrote The Run of His Life, about the OJ Simpson trial.  His writing is so accessible that he makes the work of the Supreme Court sound like something any of us could do.

The Nine lets us behind the scenes in the major Supreme Court battles of the last few decades.  We meet each of the justices and track their careers and personal triumphs and tragedies.  Toobin treats each with respect and a hint of affection.  It’s a picture so fascinating it may well lead you to contemplate changing careers.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks like something I’d love. I’ve bookmarked your post. 🙂

  2. Awesome! I’ve also got “The Challenge,” about Hamdam v. Rumsfeld, and “Supreme Courtship,” a novel, in my stack for the next couple of weeks.

  3. I read a book about the Supreme Court earlier this year and was disappointed. Sounds like I’ll have to give this one a try!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

