The Booker Short List

September 9, 2008 at 4:04 pm | Posted in Book Blather | Leave a comment

Well, now we know.  The Booker Prize short list was announced this morning.  To my surprise, there were six titles; in previous years it looks like there have only been five.  This is great news for literature, but not as great news for my prognosticating abilities.

Yesterday I guessed five titles out of the thirteen on the long list.  As it turns out, I got two of them right!  The odds of this happening were 78 to 1.  Good job, me.  Now I wonder what I would have picked as my sixth guess?

Without further ado, here are the next six books we should all be reading:

The White Tiger – Aravind Adiga

The Secret Scripture – Sebastian Barry

Sea of Poppies – Amitav Ghosh

The Clothes on Their Backs – Linda Grant

The Northern Clemency – Philip Hensher

A Fraction of the Whole – Steve Toltz

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

