Forgotten Classics: “Little, Big”

September 2, 2008 at 4:22 pm | Posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Forgotten Classics | 1 Comment

John Crowley’s 1981 novel Little, Big was out of print for many years.  I was lucky enough to discover it on my Grandma’s bookshelf, right next to the incomparable Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson.  I had a friend in college who had also read Little, Big, having found it on a Green Tortoise bus cushion during a trip to Central America, and we were utterly confounded by the bizarre coincidence that we had both encountered this impossible-to-find cult classic.  But you are lucky, because it was reprinted in 2006.  It won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel.

 

This book is definitely on my Crazy Love list.  Reading it for me was like falling into the pages down the rabbit hole.  The atmosphere replicates that feeling of reading a fairy tale when you’re a little kid and not totally sure whether it’s make-believe or not.  There are scary parts, funny parts, and romantic parts.  The story itself, the concept behind the plot, is wildly inventive.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so glad you loved this one! I bookmooched it ages ago, and brought it with me to grad school (a recent move; I only brought maybe 30 books with me), so good to know it’s worth it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

