Book Group: Montana 1948

August 15, 2008 at 3:26 pm | Posted in Fiction | 5 Comments

Usually I save Fridays for interesting books that would not typically be appropriate for your typical book group.  Ah, but my group met just last night, and the book we read was terrific.

 

The title, Montana 1948, tells you what you need to know about the book’s setting.  In fact, without the setting there would be no book, or at least a vastly different book.  The events that transpire depend utterly on the fact that the characters live in a rural small town in that particular time period.  (I really want to talk about the story, but I don’t want to blow any surprise plot points).  Let’s just say, something happens.

 

There were several places in this book when my jaw fell open.  I picked it up not knowing what it was “about” and was surprised over and over again, especially in one particular place, where I actually set the book in my lap for a few seconds, and then found that I had guessed wrong.  (Isn’t it amazing how much you can say without actually saying anything?).  Anyway, it’s brilliant.  There is not a single excess word in this book.  Prepare yourself, because there is no way you’re going to be able to put this book down after about 40 pages, and it’s only 180 pages long in the first place.

 

The only thing about reading a straightforward book that everyone loves, or at least likes, is that there’s less to discuss.  It’s when some of us really don’t like the book that the discussion tends to get a little rowdy.

 

I’m going to recommend Montana 1948 to my man Rocket Scientist, an impulse I manage to suppress about 90 percent of the time, especially after I tried to get him to read Tree of Smoke, which was just too long.  (Right now he’s on Lord of the Flies, something he somehow managed to miss in school, and which we both want his daughter Sweetie Junior to read).  I’m confident this book will knock the socks off anyone.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Want to read another review of this book? Jessica’s in my book club, too. […]

  2. This sounds great! I followed Trish’s post over here. Any friend of Trish’s is a friend of mine 🙂

  3. Me, too! Your rate of reading is scary, though. A book a day? I need to take that speed reading course to keep up with my bookblog buds…

  4. […]  Both Eyes Book Club – she mentions the setting; yes, very important.   I immediately gave this book to my husband […]

  5. […] Ok, Trish!   Ok.   Thanks for chatting with me!    But don’t you wish that someone would COMMENT and tell us WHY they are searching for this book?   and if they like what we wrote?????       maybe, we should ask Jessica… […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

