“The Maytrees”

July 29, 2008 at 9:12 pm | Posted in Fiction | 3 Comments

It turns out I’m only two degrees of separation away from Annie Dillard, which I find terribly exciting.  I used to date a fellow who took a class from her at Wesleyan.  This came up because I was raving away about Teaching a Stone to Talk, still one of my favorite books.

 

The Maytrees are a couple who get married and have one child.  I point this out right away, because the title makes this sound like one of those multi-generational family epics that I tend to shy away from.  If I’m gonna read one, it had better be translated from the Spanish, and in that case I’m only making an exception for One Hundred Years of Solitude.  I prefer not to have to draw out a diagram in order to remember which character I’m following from one chapter to the next.  The slender spine should also help remove any impression of vast, sweeping saga.

 

Lyrical and carefully considered, this is an amazing, nontraditional, thoroughly unpredictable love story.  It could only have been written by a mature writer at the height of her powers.  Reading The Maytrees is a spiritual lesson.  You’ll want to rush straight through to find out how the story ends, but you’ll find yourself reading it in little sips.

 

A no-holds-barred five stars.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ha!
    Thank you for clearing up the multigenerational families confusion, which, for some weird reason, you’re right: that’s what it sounds like The Maytrees should be about.

    I’m glad to know that it’s not. I’m going to get it from the library now!

  2. OMG I can’t even believe CitizenReader read my blog! I’m going to faint! I must be your biggest fan.

  3. Well,
    I am a big fan of yours, so it seems only right I read your blog! Not many can or would make the “multigenerational families” observation, and fewer still would admit to not really wanting to read that type of story all the time.

    Don’t faint–just keep writing lovely reviews. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear what you think of the Jen Lancaster, and about McMurtry’s “Books.”


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

