“The Love Curse of the Rumbaughs”

July 15, 2008 at 5:51 am | Posted in Young Adult Fiction | 2 Comments

Yes, it’s true, I sometimes read fiction… You know you’re a book junkie when you look forward to waiting in your doctor’s waiting room because it will get you ahead another chapter.

The Love Curse of the Rumbaughs, by Jack Gantos, is aimed at the young adult audience. I don’t care; I’ll read whatever I want, even if there’s a big glaring YA on the spine at the library. I often find that “YA” books are fast-paced and innovative, and this book is no exception. It’s also pretty darn gross at parts, so don’t plan to read it over lunch. (I originally typed “eat it” without noticing. Reader’s Digest, anyone?)

This is a very gothic tale of warped love, dark legacies, and of course taxidermy. It sneaks up on you; the strangest things are written about in the most matter-of-fact style, so that you barely realize just how truly weird things are getting. I won’t spoil the ending for you other than to say that you probably won’t quite guess it. It’s an unforgettable and truly original story. Would that this were true of more “adult” novels!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hee hee, sounds great! In fact based on your description I might even be able to get my son to read it too. Thanks!

  2. Uhoh, how old is he? I should warn you that there is a brief “adult scene” in the book.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

